Faculty, Resident Among Those Honored by CNS with Awards for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The CNS Foundation has announced the winners in four categories of awards in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Included among these are Duke Neurosurgery's Alankrita Raghavan, MD, fifth-year resident; and Rory Goodwin, MD, PhD, assistant professor and associate program director of the residency program.

Raghavan and Goodwin will be honored along with other recipients at the 2023 CNS Annual Meeting in Washington D.C., September 9-13, 2023.

"Research in health care disparity is important and I am thrilled that the CNS Foundation is one of the first neurosurgery foundations providing funding support in this area. The CNS Foundation committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion has created some of the first awards in this area,” said CNS Foundation Chair Martina Stippler, MD.

Raghavan was named a winner of the DEI Pilot Project and will receive $17,000 for an active study to implement, test, and report results of an intervention hypothesized to correct a known health care disparity and/or improve diversity in the neurosurgery workforce. 

Goodwin received an award for the DEI Impact Project, a prize that recognizes a neurosurgeon for their outstanding work in DEI and community engagement to share best practices in addressing disparity in equity and inclusion.