Neurosurgery Scholar Awards

Duke Neurosurgery Scholar Awards Recipients

Since neurosurgery represents a lifelong endeavor of continual learning and self-improvement, the Duke training program started this award in 2005 to recognize the resident who has demonstrated the most consistent and successful attempt to maintaining a high level of academic advancement throughout the entire year.

This is based on success on in-house assessment of conference lectures (70 percent), national board exam score (20 percent), and publication achievement (10 percent).

Winners are recognized with a plaque and prize.

2018 - Stephen Harward II, MD, PhD (class of '21)

2014 - Timothy Miller, Jr, MD (class of '17)

2013 - Matthew Hazzard, MD (class of '16)

2012 - Jonathan Choi, MD (class of '14)

2011 - Isaac Karikari, MD (class of '13)

2010 - Ben Waldau, MD (class of '10)

2009 - Ben Waldau, MD (class of '10)

2008 - Ben Waldau, MD (class of '10)
           Ciaran Powers, MD, PhD (class of '09)

2007 - Hamid Aliabadi, MD (class of '10)

2006 - Lee Selznick, MD (class of '07)